Scholarship 2018

Brenda O’Neill Memorial Scholarship Draw 2018

ENNISCORTHY CREDIT UNION held the annual scholarship draw on Tuesday November 13th at the Riverside Park Hotel.  With a huge entry of over 100 3rd level and PLC students and a scholarship fund of €9,000, the room was buzzing with excitement about who would be the favoured ones on the night.

Nick Cosgrave, Chairman of Enniscorthy Credit Union introduced Liam Waters who acted as MC.  Liam acknowledged Mr Barry O’Neill representing the O’Neill family.  The Scholarship had been re-named the Brenda O’Neill Memorial Scholarship in to remember Brenda who worked for the credit union for over 30 years and unfortunately passed away last year.

Michael Brennan PC made sure that proceedings were correct and proper and with much fanfare the following winners were drawn from the drum.

3rd Level Winners

1st Prize               -    €1,500 x 3        Conor Hearne, Ballina, Ballymurn
2nd Prize              -    €1,000              Jack Foley, Castledockrell
3rd Prize               -      €500               Eoin Murphy, Askinamoe
4th Prize               -      €500               Michael Kinsella, Tomanoole, Ballycarney
5th Prize               -      €500               Nicole Kavanagh, Mangan, Killanne
6th Prize               -      €500               Jamie Roban, Shroughmore, Ballindaggin

Prizes – PLC/Level 5 Scholarship

1st Prize               -    €1,000               Hannah Bolger, Court Street, Enniscorthy
2nd Prize              -       €500               John McWey, Coolgarrow

Previous winners Woody Bennett (3rd year) and Fergal Grannell (2nd year), represented by his mother Stella thanked the credit union for their support which has meant a lot to them in the intervening years with college costs increasing all the time.

Our Brenda O'Neill Scholarship draw for 2019 will be launched in August 2019 and there are Terms and Conditions for entry.  If you are planning on commencing college next year and you are not already a member why not join now so that you will be eligible to enter the scholarship draw.