Enniscorthy Credit Union 60th Anniversary 2024

Enniscorthy Credit Union 60th Anniversary 2024

Tuesday, April, 2nd, 2024 in Credit Union News

On the 13th April 1964 Enniscorthy Credit Union was formed at a public meeting in Bennetts Hotel. Following this inaugural meeting the first board of directors decided to provide credit union facilities for 1 hour on a Friday night from a room provided by the Governing Body of the Athenaeum.

These visionaries formed a committee representative of the entire community to progress the idea. They were:

Directors: Tom Kelly, Louis Kerr, Michael Treacy, Pat Mac Guill, Charles L Cullen, Patrick F Farrell, Denis O’Connor, Monica Conlon, John L Kickham and Aidan O’Leary.

Credit Committee: Margaret Murray, William Roche and Tim Counihan

Supervisors: William Hastings Browne, Patrick Bourke and Jim Burke O’Leary.

Enniscorthy Credit Union as we know it today stands on the shoulders of the founding directors and members.  The whole ethos of the Credit Union is People helping people and, in the past people’s savings were needed to help fund giving ethical loans to our members.

In the intervening 60 years a lot has changed but Credit Unions are still run by volunteers, who are members of the Credit Union themselves, and they give generously of their time and expertise, making us a democratic financial cooperative, owned by all our members.  This makes us distinctly different to other financial institutions.

As part of our Anniversary celebrations we are holding an Ecumenical Service in St. Aidan’s Cathedral on Friday April 12th at 7.00pm.  Everyone is welcome to attend.